Battered Soul

Useless, empty, worthless, and broken,
The words on my lips that will remain unspoken,
Useless, because I am no longer capable,
For the pain I am in has become inescapable,
Empty, because of how I shut myself away,
For I never allow myself to hear the words they say,
Worthless, because I no longer can feel,
For reality has slipped away and I have lost sight of what’s real,
Broken, because of the wounds I carry,
For the pain I will suffer until my body they bury,
The scars are clear, though not marked on my skin,
They are marked by the pain of this hell I am locked in,
This life I hope will soon slip away,
For I can not suffer for another day.

Leave a Reply

